Pass command line switch to the packaged executable

Issues related to Enigma Virtual Box
Post Reply
Genfry
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:01 am

Pass command line switch to the packaged executable

Post by Genfry » Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:06 am

Helo EVB,

I need to pass a command line switch to a packaged executable, how to do it ?
Second I need to pass working folder to this application, how to do it ?
I'm using versione 3.4

thanks and regards
GB

Enigma
Site Admin
Posts: 2526
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: Pass command line switch to the packaged executable

Post by Enigma » Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:01 pm

Hi Genfry,

Currently it is impossible to pass command line to the virtual executable. But probably it will be added in some next version.
Genfry wrote:Second I need to pass working folder to this application, how to do it ?I'm using versione 3.4
Working folder? What do you mean, please give an example.

Genfry
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:01 am

Re: Pass command line switch to the packaged executable

Post by Genfry » Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:53 pm

Hello EVB,

thanks for yuor reply

consider the command line visible in the field properties of the shortcut of an executable, you will see:
Target = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\Excel.exe -1st_switch -2nd_switch -3_etc"
Start in = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\

I have an executable that need to be executed with 1 parameters on the command line (-1st_switch )

thanks and regards
GB

Enigma
Site Admin
Posts: 2526
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: Pass command line switch to the packaged executable

Post by Enigma » Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:15 am

I think in your case would be better to rewrite the main program that opens Excel file, so it will start the Excel from the necessary path with the necessary parameters. Because the issues you described are not really belongs to virtualization and EVB.

Post Reply