Tutorial on how to use...

Issues related to Enigma Virtual Box
garchev

Tutorial on how to use...

Post by garchev »

Hello all,

I am new to EVB and I try to understand how exactly it works. I understand that this is not the type of "capture image before- install-capture image after" applications.

So, if I have an already installed app which contains the main .exe in the main app folder and other files scattered around the system, is it only sufficient to point the input file to the main .exe and then to add the main .exe folder to the file list and then EVB will find and package all the needed files, folders and registry, etc., even the ones that are not in the main .exe? Could I just point to the main .exe and EVB will determine all the files and folders needed, without even adding the main library?

One review I came up with was suggesting this: http://www.softwarecrew.com/2012/04/eni ... xecutable/

Or, is it that I ABSOLUTELY need to know ALL the files and folders + registry for a given app to be able to package it?

What are the other possible ways to use EVB? Are there some more detailed tutorials on how to use EVB?

Thank you in advance for your help and apolOgies if I ask basic questions.
Enigma
Site Admin

Re: Tutorial on how to use...

Post by Enigma »

Hi garchev,

Yes, commonly you should know all the files that application uses to bind all of them to single executable.
And yes, there is no feature that allows to determine all the files that application requires.

Why there is no such feature? Because it is really hard to do, saying more, it impossible to do. Of course, something like that can be made, but it won't work for all applications and it will add too much useless files to the package. Some of our competitors has such options, but final executable may not be compatible with the all versions of Windows or may be too huge in size.

Enigma Virtual Box allows more accurate configuration where only required files are being added to the file.